The tragic story of French naïve painter Séraphine Louis aka Séraphine de Senlis (1864-1942), a humble servant who becomes a gifted self-taught painter. A story of how hardship and the rise to riches can be detrimental to the mental health of a simple person once her raw talent is recognised and rewarded. The world of art and artists is of its own kind and this film is a masterpiece that can make one experience some of it. I have never heard of Seraphine Louis before even though I have studied Art History. Please try againSorry, we failed to record your vote. Based on the life of French painter Seraphine de Senlis. A low budget film yet charming. Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books. The story of Amedeo Modigliani's bitter rivalry with Pablo Picasso, and his tragic romance with Jeanne Hebuterne. I loved the movie even though Seraphim's end of life was really sad.

It's a marvellous exploration of how one woman's total devotion to her art eventually lead her to a total exclusion from her peers and ending up in that symbol of absolute seperation - the Asylum.Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 27, 2010 Light and cast, details and looks. Comedy Directed by Dan Ireland. The last time in film history drama achieved this inspiring level, (although Lust for Life came close with Kirk Douglas), was when Charles Laughton played Rembrandt in the early cinema days. The cleaning lady is a rather rough-and-ready forty-year-old woman who is the laughing stock of others. Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2015 The cleaning lady is a rather rough-and-ready forty-year-old woman who is the laughing stock of others.